Shhh, it’s good for them and they don’t know!!

We just had a very amazingly yummy smoothie for breakfast with hidden greens.  It got me thinking about the parents I know that really want to feed their kids extra vegetables but the kids won't eat them/don't like them.  We don't really have issues with getting our boys to eat vegetables (they're weird that way) but I sneak in things as well as giving them to them just for the extra boost.  Okay, I'll fess up.  It maybe for us, as parents too because honestly I'm not too fond of most vegetables.  If I can "hide" them from myself and not taste the gross ones I'm happy.  I know I'm still getting the nutrition but I'm also loving the food I'm eating.  It's a win – win.

For the green smoothies it's very simple.  Make them as you would normally with fruit and add in some greens.  I'm amazed that you can't taste them.  Yes, it makes it have a green tent but it doesn't have the flavor.  For today's I used a 2 handfuls of mixed spring greens, a 2 tablespoons of milk kefir (you don't have to use this but it makes your belly happy), a frozen banana (freeze them whole and run water over them to release the , about 1/2 cup peanut butter, half & half until the blender starts going (cream or milk would work too), and a few squirts of local raw honey.  Very easy.  Throw it all in your blender and mix it up!  You could use whatever fruit your children like best.  I find it easiest to use frozen fruit just because then you don't have to add ice to give it the smoothie texture. 

Another way we hide our veggies is by shredding them and using in chili, sauces, soups, ground, etc.  Just shred them or chop them really finely and add it in.  I've heard a lot of poeple use pureed vegetables, which would be even more hush hush but we don't need to so I don't.  Here's a good site to learn more about it. http://www.thesneakychef.com/ 

I hope this helps some of you out!

Leave a Reply

