Camping and Menu Plan Monday 6/18/2012

Image

We had a fun weekend.  We went camping on Saturday.  It was supposed to be only a 30% chance of sporadic showers.  We could handle that.  No biggy.  When we went to sleep that night there wasn’t a cloud in the sky so we decided to leave the cover tarp thing off and have open windows.  That may have been a small mistake.  At about 5:00 am on Sunday morning I felt rain come pouring on my head.  I jumped up yelling, “Rain! Rain! Get the cover!”  Which I am sure scared poor Scott and the boys to death because they were all still sleeping right through the rain.  Seriously, if I weren’t there they would probably have not woke up until they were floating.  You’ll be happy to know we got the cover tarp thing on and everyone, except me, fell back asleep.  I ended up waking up getting up and taking a nice warm shower, alone with no children pounding on the door (score!).

However, my excitement soon turned as I realized I had forgotten to pack my own clean under clothes!  Oh, I remembered for everyone else and forgot mine.  I could not put on dirty ones.  Yuck!  What to do?  Well, what any desperate ingenious resourceful woman would obviously do, wash them by hand in the shower and used the hand dryer to dry them.  I just have to say praise the Lord no one came in while I was standing around in my towel washing and drying my undergarments.  It may have been a tad bit embarrassing.  After that little fiasco, we went to Scott’s Grandparents’ house to visit.  Nothing overly exciting happened there, which I was grateful for because I had enough for the day.

Scott and I have decided to embark our family on eating better.  As most of you know we already eat mostly organic, but that does not mean healthy!  First on our list is cutting out soda.  We are also cutting out on bad carbs/lowering carbs and I am taking out gluten for me again.  I just feel horrible since eating it again and don’t feel it’s worth four more weeks of this to get the celiac test.  I know it bothers me so I just need to stay away no matter if it is just a sensitivity or celiac.  Another positive of not being testing is it will not be on my medical record.

And without further ado, the meal plan for this week (we have a lot of chicken in the freezer, as you’ll see):

 

Monday:  Chicken Stir Fry using Brown Rice

Tuesday:  Chicken Tacos

Wednesday:  Meatloaf, Sweet Potatoes, and Green Beans Thursday: 

Friday:  “Breaded” Chicken Tenders and Veggies

Saturday:  Grilled Chicken and Veggies

Sunday:  Chicken Alfredo for Lot Family

 

I am in need of lower carb lunch ideas.  The obvious choice is salads, but I want more variety.  Do you have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

