Change Needs To Happen

Many of you don’t know this because, let’s be real, I hide it from most people.  I don’t like to be looked at as weak.  I like to be the strong one.  But all that being said I’m coming clean.

  • I have suffered from depression and anxiety for the past few years, but this year has been the worst.  I have been on an as needed medication for anxiety since Sam was born in March 2015.  The past few months things have gotten worse.  I have had anxiety attacks multiple times a week.
  • I have no energy and sleep all the time.  I have had multiple times a week where I go to sleep at 7 or 8 pm and don’t wake up until 8 am or later if it’s a weekend AND still take a nap with Sam.
  • Then on the opposite end of that I will have horrible insomnia some nights and not go to bed until 3 or 4 am, if at all.
  • I have been forgetting things.  I’m not talking, “Where are my keys?” forgetful.  I would be in a conversation and completely forget a simple word multiple times a day!
  • I have pain in my muscles and joints, so bad that I have been taking ibuprofen multiple times a week.
  • My skin has been doing weird things like crazy painful acne and dark patches.
  • My ADHD symptoms have been worse than normal.  So much so I have considered going to get prescription medication for it, but I’m stubborn and hate taking it.
  • I have migraines once or twice a month.

Right about now you are probably asking, “Why is she telling me all this?”  Well, surely I cannot be the only one suffering from these problems and I’m beginning the journey to be healthy again.  I want to document it and maybe some of the changes I’m making will help someone else too.  It has been hard, but the Lord has grown me so much in this time and pulled me near to Him.  He has show me grace and love.  He has shown me that it is okay to grieve and miss RHC and our family there.  He has reminded me that He has a plan for our lives and His plan is perfect!  I want others to have that same hope too.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

-2 Corinthians 12:9-10

 

Here are a few changes I have made since it was brought to my attention that I probably had adrenal fatigue.

*Cut back on responsibilities.  I set time limits on these because I know myself, and I know I need a goal date or I’ll get back into things too early.

*No more coffee on a regular basis.  This has been the hardest thing!  I used to drink it all day long.  Seriously, I should have been a Gilmore.

*Reading my Bible more.

*Using essential oils.

 

Since making these changes I have had some good results.  I still have problems with insomnia and going to bed early, but it’s better.  I don’t typically have to take a nap during the day and I can make it until 9 or 10 pm now!  And my anxiety has lessened.  The next change I want to make is another dietary change, cutting back on sugar.

2 thoughts on “Change Needs To Happen

  1. Hey there lady! Glad to have seen this. Passed it onto my mom friend of 7! Baby is 7mos. Sounds familiar. Thanks for being vulnerable to help the rest of his flock. That’s what it is all about! Love you from a far. Feel free to move back again. Teeheehee.😘

    • I’m hearing more and more mothers say they feel the same way since I posted this! I’m just praying I can help one person to feel better through it. Love you as well and miss you and your lovelies faces!! We do not plan to come back, sorry, but you’re welcome to come visit Missouri sometime.

Leave a Reply

